Middle Grade Horoscopes!


Okay, confession time: I'm not a big believer in astrology. But as someone whose TBR list is growing at an exponential rate, sometimes having a higher power decide on your next read can be liberating! So I've spent the past few days poring over horoscope charts and I'm confident I know each of the Zodiac signs well enough to make some pretty decent middle grade recommendations. So if you're feeling in tune with your star sign and looking for an awesome new children's book to fall in love with, keep reading! 🔮 😜

Aries | 21st March - 19th April

Ambitious and impulsive, Ariens will jump head-first into a project with all the self-assurance and drive needed to get the job done. An Arien will relate well to smart-talking and quick-thinking Lil Potkin of Sophie Green's Potkin and Stubbs - a wannabe reporter who befriends a young ghost called Nedly who can't recall how he died. Lil’s passion and impatience means she often finds herself in precarious situations, but she’s prepared to do whatever it takes to get to the truth and help Nedly find the answers he needs move on. Arien readers will find themselves right at home in Peligan City, the backdrop of this shady middle grade noir. | More Info

Taurus | 20th April - 20th May

Dependable, trustworthy and honest, a Taurus has all the qualities of a perfect friend. They value integrity over all else and are not easily swayed by others, which makes them great at giving advice and acting as the voice of reason. Taureans are often musically inclined and feel a deep connection to their physical body so they'll share a bond with Ash, the protagonist of Jamie Littler’s Frostheart, whose unique singing ability allows him to communicate with Leviathans (ice dragons). Fearful of his powers, Ash is banished from his home by the residents of the Fira stronghold, marking the beginning of a journey of self-discovery where Ash hopes to find the truth about his real parents and discover the origins of his power. | More Info

Gemini | 21st May - 20th June

Geminis are the chameleon of the Zodiac and are renowned for their quick-wit and intense curiosity. Excellent communicators and highly emotionally intelligent, Geminis are great at getting people to talk openly with them - a skill expertly harnessed by Nik and Norva, the sister sleuths at the centre of Sharna Jackson's debut novel, High Rise Mystery - a brilliant whodunnit set in modern-day London. Filled with humour and twists, this book will keep you guessing until the very end and is certain to appeal to Geminis - and every other Zodiac sign for that matter! | More Info

Cancer | 21st June - 22nd July

Deeply intuitive and sentimental, a Cancerian places their family and friends at the centre of their world and will do anything to protect them. Creative, with a strong connection to spiritual beliefs or a higher power, this sign of the Zodiac has much in common with Jasbinder Bilan’s Asha and the Spirit Bird, which follows young Asha as she sets out across the Himalayas to find her father in the city after he abruptly stops writing home - something he would never do unless something was seriously wrong. Asha’s journey is a perilous one, but she finds comfort in the lamagaia that seems to be guiding her - a bird that Asha believes is her grandmother's spirit watching over her. Exploring themes such as family bonds, traditional folk tales and the loyalty of friends, Asha and the Spirit Bird encapsulates all the best values of a Cancer and is a story truly to be savoured. | More Info

Leo | 23rd July - 22nd August

Proud, intelligent and ambitious, Leos often find themselves the centre of attention – whether they mean to or not! Leadership comes naturally to a Leo, whose magnetic personality makes drawing people in effortless. Howl’s Moving Castle is the perfect book for Leos, who will see much of themselves in the dramatic and charming Wizard Howl, the fiery Calcifer, and the stubborn Sophie. Chaotic, flamboyant and full of adventure, Diana Wynne Jones's iconic novel exudes Leo energy! | More Info

Virgo | 23rd August - 22nd September

Graceful and observant, Virgos are highly intelligent and love nothing more than trying new things and learning about the world. They cherish their relationships with others and prefer socialising in small groups where they can give their friends the attention they deserve. Meg Grehan's The Deepest Breath epitomises Virgo kindness and curiosity, centring on eleven-year-old Stevie and her new feelings of attraction toward a girl in her class. Stevie is an avid reader and feels the need to understand everything so when she can't explain the butterflies in her tummy, she desperately turns to the library in an attempt to figure out these new emotions. Told in verse, The Deepest Breath is a serene story about the depths of human emotion, childhood innocence and learning to open up to others. A truly beautiful story! | More Info

Libra | 23rd September - 22nd October

Libras crave balance and are known for their intelligence and diplomacy. Incredibly self-reflective, Libras can sometimes struggle with insecurities surrounding their personal identity so it's important to set aside time for self-care rituals and personal pursuits in order to find inner-peace. The Girl Who Speaks Bear is the perfect middle grade book for a Libra, given its focus on identity, meditation and self-discovery. Libras are happiest when they're surrounded by friends and family on whom they can count and this is no different for Yanka, the protagonist of Sophie Anderson's story, who after inexplicably awaking to find her legs transformed into those of a bear, finds herself drawn to the forest in search of answers. A lyrical adventure story intertwined with folklore and magic, Sophie Anderson is an expert storyteller whose stories will appeal to Libran sensibilities. | More Info

Scorpio | 23rd October - 21st November

Adventurous, passionate and fiercely independent, Scorpios know what they want and aren't afraid to tell people. While intimidating to those who don't know them, a Scorpio is a loyal friend and will go to the ends of the Earth to help someone they truly care about. Michelle Harrison's A Pinch of Magic radiates Scorpio energy and the three Widdershin sisters at the heart of the story show off all the best qualities of a Scorpio. Fans of magic, sisterhood and high-stakes adventures will love the first book in this spellbinding fantasy series. | More Info

Sagittarius | 22nd November - 21st December

Natural born leaders with a love of travel, Sagittarians are explorers through and through so it should be no surprise that my middle grade book pick for Saggitarius is Katherine Rundell's The Explorer! Sagittarians will relate well to young Fred whose logical and analytical approach helps both him and his friends survive in the Amazon rainforest after their plane crashes leaving them stranded. They'll also see themselves in the brutally honest Con, the smart and capable Lila, and the relentlessly energetic Max. Of all the middle grade books I've mapped to Zodiac signs, The Explorer is possibly the best fit and a book I'm confident Sagittarians - and everyone else for that matter! - will love. | More Info

Capricorn | 22nd December - 19th January

With a meticulous eye for detail and a perfectionist streak, Capricorns have an excellent work-ethic and will always go the extra mile to make sure a job is done properly. They're a stickler for rules and have extremely high standards, which can create problems when they - or others - aren't able to meet their (sometimes unrealistic) expectations. As such, it goes without saying that Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike is the perfect book for a Capricorn. Following Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong as they try to solve a murder that takes place in their boarding school, this middle grade mystery is set out like a case file, with maps, suspects, alibis and notes all carefully presented to help the detective duo - and their reader! - put together the events leading up to the murder and identify the culprit. The middle grade answer to Agatha Christie, Capricorns will love this novel and delight in putting their own analytical skills to the test as they try to solve the mystery alongside Wells and Wong. | More Info

Aquarius | 20th January - 18th February

Imaginative and enigmatic, Aquarians are tricky to nail down but it's their morals and strong sense of social justice that unites them as a group. Strong believers in change and evolution, Aquarians will love Jessica Townsend's Nevermoor - a book about a young girl called Morrigan Crow whose life is turned upside down when she's whisked away to the magical world of Nevermoor! For Morrigan, it seems, has a special gift and should she pass a series of trials and gain entrance into the prestigious Wundrous Society, she'll learn precisely what that gift is and how to use it. Filled with transformations, moral dilemmas and one of the most imaginative magic systems in middle grade fiction, Nevermoor has Aquarius written all over it and I defy anyone not to fall in love with this series. | More Info

Pisces | 19th February - 20th March

Emotionally intelligent and guided by a strong moral compass, Pisceans are great at giving advice and empathising with others. As such, Pisces readers will love Pax by Sara Pennypacker (illustrated by Jon Klassen): a book that tells the story Peter and his pet fox, Pax, and their journeys back to one another after they are forced apart by war. Alternating between both Peter's and Pax's viewpoints, Pax shows the depths of friendship and the almost telepathic bond between a boy and his pet - something Pisceans will appreciate given their strong intuition and ability to practically read the minds of those around them. Pax is a story of friendship and belonging, right and wrong, and the importance of the natural world - themes that will resonate with all readers but especially Pisceans who feel deeply and form strong emotional bonds with those close to them. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, Pax is destined to become a classic and a book every middle grade fan needs to read. | More Info

So there we go! Those are my middle grade zodiac recommendations! I hope you enjoyed taking part as much as I enjoyed choosing the books and writing up their horoscopes. Let me know in the comments what book you got and whether you think it's a good match.


Happy reading!


- Liam

Subscribe for updates!

© Copyright 2020 Liam Reads